The Alliance of

Private Sector Practitioners


Telephone: 01492 534333

AlliancePSP logo png AlliancePSP logo png AlliancePSP logo png



To qualify for membership of the Accredited Register of Foot Health Practitioners you must:


i) be able to demonstrate normal hand control and hand/eye co-ordination,

ii) speak and write English sufficiently well as to allow effective record-keeping and communication,

iii) prove training to a level deemed to be equivalent to NVQ level 4, with a minimum of 10 days of approved practical training,

iv) be currently engaged in delivery of the service, and be suitably insured to deliver that service

v) undertake to practice within the requirements and rules of the Alliance of Private Sector Practitioners and the Accredited Register of Foot Health Practitioners, including its Code of Conduct and Ethics.


Foot Health Practitioners undertake theoretical and practical training that includes anatomy and physiology to understand how the lower limb works in health and what can go wrong in the event of disease, trauma and ageing. All of the body systems are examined and the effects of footwear upon the foot and gait form part of the curriculum which also includes:


• health, hygiene and infection control

• care and manipulation of surgical instruments

• skin servicing techniques

• padding and dressing, offloading and re-direction of damaging forces

• diagnosis, clinical investigation and monitoring

• dermatology, nail and skin pathology

• circulation and vascular issues

• diabetes mellitus and patient education


This is not an exhaustive list, but serves to illustrate that a Foot Health Practitioner accepted for listing on the Accredited Register has an in-depth training in a range of strategies to support feet and maintain mobility and independence. Continuous professional development ensures that practitioners remain up-to-date and fully aware of current thinking.


NVQ Level 4 - NVQ Level 4 is the fourth level of NVQ (National Vocational Qualification), where practitioners learn to apply workplace knowledge to a broad range of scenarios that range from the simple to the very complex. The approximate academic equivalent of NVQ level 4 are: Key Skills level 4, Certificates of Higher Education, Higher National Diplomas and a National Diploma in Professional Production Skills.


NCFE's Investing in Quality (IIQ) Licence is designed to give formal recognition to an organisation's bespoke programmes that fall outside the QCF. The licence is based on a number of Quality Statements which provide a quality assurance framework for the development, delivery and evaluation of their courses. The Diploma in Foot Health Practice offered by the College of Foot Health Practitioners has been mapped to level 4 of the National Qualifications Framework by our NCFE accreditors. NCFE is recognised as an Awarding Organisation by the qualification regulators ('regulators') for England, Wales and Northern Ireland. The regulators are the Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator (Ofqual) in England, the Welsh Government in Wales and the Council for Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment (CCEA Regulation) in Northern Ireland.

LevelRQF examplesFHEQ examples


Level 3 


RFQ Examples


- AS and A level

- Advanced Extension Award

- Cambridge International award

- International Baccalaureate

- Key Skills level 3

- NVQ level 3

- Advanced diploma

- Progression diploma

- BTEC award, certificate and diploma level 3

- BTEC National

- Cambridge Technical level 3


Level 4


RFQ Examples



- Certificate of higher education

- Key Skills level 4

- NVQ level 4

- BTEC Professional award, certificate and diploma level 4-


FHEQ Examples


- Certificate of higher education



Level 5


RFQ Examples



- NVQ level 4

- Higher diploma

- BTEC Professional award, certificate and diploma level 5


FHEQ Examples


- Diploma of higher education

- Diploma of further education

- Foundation degree